Female Professor Can’t Be Next Ohinoyi Of Ebiraland – Traditional Council

Secretary of Ebiraland Traditional Council, Alhaji Yunusa Sule, has given reason why the application of the only female contestant in the race to occupy the vacant Ohinoyi of Ebiraland stool cannot sail through.

In an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Okene on Monday, Yunusa said the female contestant, Professor Angela Okatahi’s application will not be considered because of tradition.

He explained that “the number would have been 71 but the 71st person is a female Professor, Angela Oregwu-Okatahi, who by our tradition is not eligible to contest for the stool.

“The 70 eligible contestants are from four of the five eligible districts in Kogi: Okengwe, Ihima, Eika, Eganyi and Adavi.

“Adavi district is left out of the race because that’s where the late Ohinoyi came from.”

The secretary said that the screening for the eligible persons was in line with Edit 97 (3) put in place by a former Military Governor of the state, Col. B.L. Ofakeriya and the state government’s Chieftaincy Law of June 2006.

A former Deputy Governor, Philip Salawu; former Clerk of the National Assembly, Ataba Sani Omolori (Ciroma of Ebiraland); Brig. Gen. Yusuf Abubakar Amuda; and the Ohi of Okengwe, HRH DR. Tijani Muhammed Anaje are among 70 applicants that will be screened for the revered traditional stool.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here